LIE IN RUINS To Release “Toward Divine Death” In February

Monday, 23rd December 2013

Finnish death metal legion LIE IN RUINS will release its new album, Toward Divine Death, on February 4 via Dark Descent Records. The follow-up to 2009’s Swallowed By The Void — released on Spinefarm Records — sees the band make no missteps in delivering a 70-minute opus of pure death metal. Spanning 10 tracks, the new effort displays a much more mature band and vision. While you will hear typical LIE IN RUINS moments on this album, make no mistake, this is a nastier and grittier album that will leave you hoping the band doesn’t go five more years before assaulting us with another album.

LIE IN RUINS was formed initially at the golden season of death metal in the early ’90s, but was buried in the background for several years. In 2002, the beast dug up again from his tomb to spread the seed of evil now when the time was ready. After the first demo, Monuments, was released, the need for a second guitarist was met. This unholy trinity began working on new material. After the next demo, Statues, it was time to take the next step, and start spreading the musical propaganda at live. So it was time to get some new members again, and this time LIE IN RUINS grew into five.

Meanwhile, the Spanish label Temple Of Darkness released a mini-cd from LIE IN RUINS, called Architecture Of The Dead, which was compilation of the Monuments and Statues demos. Next came the split seven-inch with DEATHEVOKATION, called Allegiance In Death published by the Imperium Productions.

In 2009, LIE IN RUINS’ drummer decided to leave the band before the recording of the new album. Continuing without him, the group entered the studio and recorded ten desecrating songs for Swallowed By The Void.


[fbcomments width="580"]