MASTODON: New Song “Chimes at Midnight” Available For Streaming

Tuesday, 3rd June 2014

Atlanta progressive metallers MASTODON will release their sixth album, Once More ‘Round The Sun, on June 24 via Reprise Records. The follow-up to 2011’s The Hunter was recorded in Nashville with Grammy Award-winning producer Nick Raskulinecz, who is known for his work with RUSH, DEFTONES, FOO FIGHTERS and ALICE IN CHAINS.

The song “Chimes At Midnight” can now be streamed below.

Also available on June 24 will be a stunning deluxe 2LP vinyl edition of Once More ‘Round The Sun. This limited edition will include two discs pressed onto 180-gram black vinyl housed in a quadruple gatefold vinyl jacket featuring artwork by Skinner, plus a CD of the complete album. The package will include four exclusive lithographs derived from the album artwork.

Those who preorder the deluxe vinyl edition will be entitled to bonus digital content: An instant download of “High Road”, plus another album track delivered digitally prior to street date, and a download of the entire album delivered digitally on street date.

Once More ‘Round The Sun track listing:

1. Tread Lightly
2. The Motherload
3. High Road
4. Once More ‘Round The Sun
5. Chimes At Midnight
6. Asleep In The Deep
7. Feast Your Eyes
8. Aunt Lisa
9. Ember City
10. Halloween
11. Diamond In The Witch House (feat. Scott Kelly of NEUROSIS)

A three-minute video video featuring renowned Oakland-based artist Skinner, whose work graces the cover of Once More ‘Round The Sun, can be seen below. The short film showcases a conversation between MASTODON drummer Brann Dailor and Skinner about the genesis of the ideas that would eventually become the cover art. Skinner talks about his longtime appreciation of MASTODON’s music that would later inspire his creation of these lurid and iconic images.

MASTODON will film a video for the song “High Road” on Saturday, May 24 in the Los Angeles area.

[fbcomments width="580"]