RandomnessExclusive Song Stream: Nigredo's "Raging Tides of Time"

Exclusive Song Stream: Nigredo’s “Raging Tides of Time”

Looking for something new to crank as you make it through the middle of the week? We at Dead Rhetoric have partnered with Transcending Obscurity Records to bring you an exclusive stream of Greek black metallers Nigredo’s “Raging Tides of Time,” which comes from the upcoming album Flesh Torn – Spirit Pierced. The album is set to be released on April 15, 2018 through Transcending Obscurity and the track can be streamed at the bottom of the page. As always, if you enjoy what you hear, you can pre-order the album HERE or simply click on the Bandcamp widget below.

Of the track:
“Raging Tides of Time” is the final track of the album, and brings the album to a fittingly epic close. The buzzing guitars bask themselves not only in raw black metal, but also some deathly measures as well (with a slight thrash helping to round it out). Most importantly, there’s a lot of atmosphere to soak in, with some catchy mid-tempo guitar work helping to steer the band away from more straight-up blasting and one-dimensional approach. Despite the change in tempos, it’s intense at any given moment. It’s an assault, but a multi-pronged one that is bound to stick with you after the track finishes up.

Says the label:
From members of reputed bands like Ravencult, Embrace of Thorns and Dephosphorus, we have Nigredo from Greece changing the way we look at black metal. Whilst maintaining the rawness and intensity, they’re deftly incorporating elements of death and thrash metal and mangling them to suit their dark aesthetic. There’s integrity and at the same time a forward-thinking approach not too unlike Bolzer or Norse, but their grit remains predominant. Their structures are unpredictable but that’s only because their momentum is relentless. There is a headrush listening to ‘Flesh Torn – Spirit Pierced’, which is easily one of the most resolute as well as daring albums this style has seen in recent times.

Line up –
A. – Vocals, Guitars, Bass
Maelstrom – Drums

Painting by Jean Francois Bouron
Layout by Remedy Art Design

For fans of – Bolzer, Norse, Portal, Deathspell Omega, Svartidaudi, Blut aus Nord, The Furor, Impiety

Flesh Torn – Spirit Pierced tracklisting
1. Ten Repellent Antiforces
2. Necrolatry
3. Choronzon Possession
4. Mental Glimpses At Cosmic Horrors
5. Saturnian Death Cult
6. Sons Of Worthlessness
7. Towards The Monolith
8. Raging Tides Of Time

Nigredo on Facebook
Nigredo on Bandcamp
Transcending Obscurity official website

Leave A Comment