NewsNIGHTWISH: Vocal Recordings For New Album Complete

NIGHTWISH: Vocal Recordings For New Album Complete

Finnish symphonic metal masters NIGHTWISH have posted the following update:

“Vox done! Marco and Floor finished their vocal recording! We’re getting closer to the end of these magical recording sessions, but this milestone in its process was celebrated with as much joy as the recording itself!”

Jansen: “I can’t believe how fast all of this went, like in a dream! I am so happy with all of it though and can’t wait to share it with all of you!”

Longtime NIGHTWISH drummer Jukka Nevalainen will sit out the recording sessions for the group’s new CD due to health issues; Kai Hahto (WINTERSUN, SWALLOW THE SUN, TREES OF ETERNITY) will replace him.

Commented keyboardist and main composer Tuomas Holopainen: “When I come up with a subject for the song, I always see it as a short movie. Each song is like a soundtrack for that movie in my head… It takes at least 12-18 month to write an album.”

Holopainen recently spent two and half weeks in Hattula, Finland with the band’s producer/crew member Tero “TeeCee” Kinnunen recording a demo of the songs that will appear on NIGHTWISH’s next studio album, the first to feature Dutch singer Floor Jansen.

Commented Holopainen: “From the moment I start writing the song, I have the story in my head. I have a really clear vision how the songs should sound like at this point. Of course, they will change after band rehearsals and arranging. And they should change.”

NIGHTWISH recently inked a North American deal with Nuclear Blast Entertainment. Due in early 2015, the band’s as-yet-untitled eighth studio album will be the first to feature Dutch vocalist Floor Jansen (REVAMP, ex-AFTER FOREVER), who has toured with NIGHTWISH since October 2012.

Leave A Comment