Video: SHINING Release Live Cover Of KING CRIMSON’s “21st Century Schizoid Man”

Thursday, 25th April 2013

Norwegian avant-garde group SHINING have  released a live clip for their blackjazz rendition of KING CRIMSON’s classic track, ’21st Century Schizoid Man’ which may be viewed below. Also to be released: “One One One”, their first studio album in three years, on June 4th in Europe (excluding Norway), and on June 7th in Germany and Austria.  The band has earned international acclaim for their unique “blackjazz” variable of extreme progressive metal, experimental jazz and industrial precision.

Frontman and saxophonist Jørgen Munkeby comments: “In light of our upcoming show at Rockefeller this Friday, we wanted to post one of my favorite live clips filmed at that very venue in November 2010. I do love the original version of King Crimson’s ’21st Century Schizoid Man‘, but I also love it when twisting classics around gives them a brand new face. I feel this is the best version we have done of the song until now. But we’ll try to surpass it this Friday! If you can’t come to our show in Oslo, Norway, this Friday, then check out the newly uploaded live clip. If you are in fact coming to our show, then check out the clip anyhow! It’s a pounding ending to one of the greatest concerts we ever played.”

While this awakened cover won’t be featured on the upcoming “One One One”, fans can expect this album to be their catchiest yet. Munkeby comments: “While One One One is meant to complete the Blackjazz Trilogy, it’s also definitely the catchiest and most immediate music we’ve ever recorded, thereby paving the way for another bright and brand new version of ourselves. The idea this time around was to make a series of jazz-metal hits with no fillers, hence the name of the album, and I believe we’ve managed to do just that. I have never been as proud of an album as I am with this one.”

One One One tracklisting:

1. I Won’t Forget
2. The One Inside
3. My Dying Drive
4. Off The Hook
5. Blackjazz Rebels
6. How Your Story Ends
7. The Hurting Game
8. Walk Away
9. Paint The Sky Black


[fbcomments width="580"]