TROUBLE Reveal New Album Title And Release Dates

Thursday, 16th May 2013

Legendary doom five-piece TROUBLE will release their first studio album in six years, “The Distortion Field“, slated for release in North America on July 16 and in Europe on July 26 through FRW Records. TROUBLE has scrapped their working title (formally, The Dark Riff), and the new album’s artwork along with track listing may be viewed below. The thirteen song follow-up to their 2007 release of “Simple Mind Condition” marks the recording debut of new frontman Kyle Thomas with TROUBLE following the departure of Kory Clarke four years ago.

TROUBLE revealed in February 2012 that Kyle Thomas (ex-EXHORDER, ALABAMA THUNDERPUSSY) was added to the band’s ranks as their new vocalist parting ways with Kory Clarke, who had fronted the Chicago based band for four years beforehand.  Kyle Thomas was not unfamiliar with TROUBLE as he previously acted as vocalist  for the band at  four live shows between 1997 and 1999, including “Stoner Hands Of Doom” festival in Maryland and “Expo Of The Extreme” in Chicago.

Trouble founder and guitarist Rick Wartell comments: “Kyle is one of the most impressive singers I’ve ever heard, and by far the most extraordinary singer I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with. He’s got incredible range, incredible power, and an incredible knowledge of TROUBLE, as he’s been a fan for 20-something years. We’ve known him forever, and he innately understands what TROUBLE is about. He’s like the perfect guy to come in and do this job. It’s awesome.”

Wartell divulges about the new record: “Musically, I think this album is a true TROUBLE record. In the early days, we used to just write what we felt and didn’t really care about what anyone said. We just wrote heavy riffs and played our music our way. But outside influences can kind of get a hold of you and start telling you what to do. When we were writing this album, the thinking was, we don’t care what anybody thinks. We’re going to write what we write. So this is basically a return to our roots, while combining some reflections of our band’s long history as well. With the two different music writers, Bruce and myself, we have a slight variation in our writing; Bruce has more of a ’70s groove to his writing, and I’m more the old school doomy metal thing. And when you put it together, you get TROUBLE.”
The Distortion Field track listing:

1. Sink Or Swim
2. Paranoid Conspiracy
3. Glass Of Lies
4. The Grey Chill Of Autumn
5. When The Sky Comes Down
6. Butterflies
7. Your Reflections
8. Have I Told You
9. The Apple From The Snake
10. Hunters Of Doom
11. Sucker
12. The Broken Have Spoken

Kyle Thomas: Vocals
Bruce Franklin: Guitar
Rick Wartell: Guitar
Shane Pasqualla: Bass
Mark Lira: Drums


[fbcomments width="580"]