TARJA TURUNEN Releases Video For “Victim Of Ritual”

Wednesday, 10th July 2013

Former NIGHTWISH songstress Tarja Turunen will release a new single, “Victim Of Ritual”, as a digital download, CD single and on seven-inch vinyl on July 12 through earMUSIC. Today, Turunen has released the official video for “Victim Of Ritual” which can be viewed below. Inspired by the one-movement orchestral piece “Boléro” by Maurice Ravel, the almost-six-minutes-long “Victim Of Ritual” is the first single from Tarja’s forthcoming album, Colours In The Dark.

Colours In The Dark will be released in Europe on August 23 via earMUSIC. The CD wil be made available in North America on August 27 through Armoury Records. The cover artwork for Colours In The Dark was created by Dirk Rudolph and can be seen below. Also available is the artwork that will grace the CD’s “special edition.”

Both physical releases will surely become rare collector’s items as they are being made available in strictly limited quantities. The four-song digipak CD-single is limited to 3,000 copies worldwide, whereas the two-track seven-inch vinyl is limited to only 1,500 units worldwide.

Mixed and mastered by Tim Palmer (PEARL JAM, U2) in Austin, Texas, the songs on Colours In The Dark do not shy away from taking a risk and surprising musical turns, introducing new sounds and new musical atmospheres. Still, they maintain a heaviness that will surely bring a big smile to the hardest of rockers. With its grand orchestra and choir arrangements, Tarja’s next milestone emphasizes once again the impressive vocal range of the Finnish artist and shows her artistic growth. With ten brand new songs and over one hour of music, Colours In The Dark is definitely going to be one of the brightest moments for rock in 2013.

Tarja comments: “I am not stressed at all this time, even though I am producing the album on my own again. I have been lucky to gather around a group of musicians who are willing to work with me, so everything is going smoothly.”


“Victim Of Ritual” 7″ vinyl track listing:

Side A: Victim Of Ritual
Side B: Victim Of Ritual (First Demo)

“Victim Of Ritual” maxi single track listing:

1. Victim Of Ritual
2. Victim Of Ritual (first demo)
3. I Walk Alone (live from Luna Park)
4. Underneath (live from Luna Park)


[fbcomments width="580"]