NIGHTWISH: “Élan” Single Due In January

Monday, 8th December 2014

Finish symphonic metal masters NIGHWISH will release the “Élan” single on February 13, 2015 via Nuclear Blast. The track is taken from the band’s upcoming album, which is due in the spring.

Commented NIGHTWISH keyboardist and songwriter Tuomas Holopainen: “‘Oh, while I live to be the ruler of life, Not a slave. To meet life as a powerful conqueror, and nothing exterior to me will ever take command of me.’ This beautiful quote from my hero Uncle Walt [Walt Whitman] was the starting point for writing ‘Élan’.

“The underlying theme of the song is nothing less than the meaning of life, which can be something different for all of us. It’s important to surrender yourself to the occasional ‘free fall’ and not to fear the path less travelled by. ‘Élan’ is a wonderful teaser for the full-length album, giving out a little taste, but revealing very little of the actual Journey of Grandeur to come…”

Élan track listing:


1. Élan (album version)
2. Élan (radio edit)
3. Élan (alternate version)
4. Sagan (non-album bonus track)


Side A:

1. Élan (album version)
2. Élan (radio edit)

Side B

1. Élan (alternate version)
2. Sagan (non-album bonus track)


[fbcomments width="580"]