NIGHTWISH: 12 Songs Demoed For New Album

Friday, 16th May 2014

NIGHTWISH keyboardist/mainman Tuomas Holopainen has spent the last two and half weeks in Hattula, Finland with the band’s producer/crew member Tero “TeeCee” Kinnunen recording a demo of the songs that will appear on NIGHTWISH’s next studio album. Tuomas writes on his official web site: “It has come together beautifully and we now have a total of 12 songs to work with.

“We are all very eager to finally get together and start the rehearsals in July.

“If everything goes as scheduled, we should have the ready album in our hands by the end of January 2015.”

He adds: “It’s still too early to analyze the material more closely, but the album will once again explore all the ends of the spectrum, bringing the very best out of the newcomers [Dutch singer] Floor [Jansen, vocals] and [English composer and multi-instrumentalist] Troy [Donockley; uilleann pipes, low whistles, vocals]. And stealthily the album ended up having a theme running through it.”

Jansen made her live debut as the frontwoman of NIGHTWISH on October 1, 2012 at Showbox Sodo in Seattle, Washington following the abrupt departure of the band’s lead singer of five years, Anette Olzon.

[fbcomments width="580"]