NewsMURMUR To Release Self-Titled Album In January

MURMUR To Release Self-Titled Album In January

Chicago’s MURMUR have released the first details about their forthcoming new album on Season of Mist. The self-titled album of experimental black metal will be released on Season of Mist’s Underground Activist Division in North America on Jan. 21, (and Jan. 17 worldwide).

Regarding their recent signing, the MURMUR commented the following: “We are extremely excited to be working with Season of Mist, and to have the opportunity to reach a world-wide audience”, guitarist Matthias Vogels comments. “MURMUR started as a depressive black metal project with the debut Mainlining the Lugubrious, but after a pretty significant line-up change as well as a strong desire to satisfy my personal musical tastes, MURMUR has mutated into a fusion of black metal with progressive rock, Zeuhl, and 1970’s style jazz fusion. We continue to grow and mutate our sound with every new piece. For a long time I thought we were trying to find our niche with all the experimentation, but it seems to me that our niche is not having one at all.”

Originally formed in 2007 in Chicago, IL, MURMUR created ripples in the underground black metal scene with the release of their morose debut album in 2010, Mainlining the Lugubrious. Relying on their melancholic and cold approach to nihilistic black metal, MURMUR embarked on an even stranger, but no less frightening musical journey on a split EP with NACHTMYSTIUM.

Murmur track listing:

1. Water from Water
2. Bull of Crete
3. Al-Malik
4. Recuerdos
5. Zeta II Reticuli
6. Zeta II Reticuli, pt 2
7. King in Yellow
8. When Blood Leaves

The first pressing of Murmur will include a bonus track in the shape of a cover, of KING CRIMSON’s classic “Larks’ Tongues in Aspic, pt. 2.” Murmur is now available for pre-order at the Season of Mist E-shop.

Leave A Comment