MALPRACTICE: ‘Turning Tides’ To Be Released In September

Monday, 14th July 2014

Finnish progressive metallers MALPRACTICE have confirmed details for the release of their fourth album, Turning Tides, after previously signing to Sensory Records back in April.

With nearly forty-five minutes of brand new material, Turning Tides represents Malpractice at their absolute best, combining intricate progressive metal with catchy melodies topped with excellent musicianship and brilliant vocal harmonies. Professionally recorded by the members of the band – the lineup featuring members of renowned metal acts Omnium Gatherum and Insomnium – at various locations, Turning Tides was produced by the band’s Joonas Koto and Toni Paananen and engineered by Koto, then mixed and mastered by Anssi Kippo at Astra-Studio A and enshrouded by intriguing artwork and design work by Miikka Tikka.

“The lyrical theme of the album is about a guy who is very well educated. In fact so educated and talented that he can’t land a job for himself due to over education,” collectively issued the members of Malpractice. “He kind of falls in-between things and ends up in the suburbs unemployed and frustrated. He is ‘the best kept secret’ since no one wants to hire him. His life and sanity starts to fall apart due to his frustration and depression. He tries to fight the system but always ends up deeper and deeper in apathy. The story can be somewhat related to Malpractice’s struggle to make it for two decades already. The question is: ‘Is the guy me? You? Or every one of us?'”

Turning Tides will be released on September 16th on Sensory Records. Audio samples and additional info on the album will be announced in the coming weeks.

Turning Tides tracklisting:

1. Best Kept Secret
2. Weight Of The World
3. Irony Tower
4. State Within A State
5. Turning Tides
6. Symphony Of Urban Discontent
7. Out

[fbcomments width="580"]