GEOFF TATE’s QUEENSRŸCHE: ‘Frequency Unknown’ Remixer ‘Withdraws’ From Project

Monday, 1st April 2013

Acclaimed musician, record producer and engineer Billy Sherwood has “withdrawn” from remixing “Frequency Unknown”, the new album from theGeoff Tate-fronted version of QUEENSRŸCHE, due to “scheduling issues.” He writes on Facebook: “I’m in the middle of many projects, both studio productions and live stuff…. (Prog Collective 2Steve Miller tribute,William Shatner solo record, starting a DOORS tribute soon, playing live in a few days with Eddie Jobson in Mexico, also just got interesting offer to play bass with a prog icon for a few gigs in June, I will announce ‘who’ when it gets closer). While I was excited about taking the QUEENSRŸCHE gig, reality is there is not enough time in my schedule at present… and so… I wish them luck on the project!”

Deadline Music/Cleopatra last week released the following statement toBLABBERMOUTH.NET regarding the reports that “Frequency Unknown”was being remixed by Sherwood:

“Since previews of the new QUEENSRŸCHE album were made available to the general public on iTunes and other digital retailers, some of the response has been less than positive. Some complained about the overall quality of the recordings, and in particular the mix. We here at Deadline Music have the utmost confidence in the powerful songwriting and outstanding performances from Geoff Tate and crew on this album, but we also want the fans to know that we are listening to them as well! So, in the interest of democratic free choice, Deadline Music has commissioned the superbly talented musician/producer Billy Sherwood (formerly of YES) to remix the album. Now fans will be able to decide which mix they feel best represents the album: the original mix, which will be released on April 23rd, or the new mix by Billy Sherwood that will be made available at a future date to be announced…. WE REMIX, YOU DECIDE!”

“Frequency Unknown” was produced by Jason Slater at a studio in Northern California.

Although a lineup for Tate‘s QUEENSRŸCHE was originally announced in the fall of 2012, things have changed. The band will now feature Tate along with bassist Rudy Sarzo (OZZY OSBOURNEDIOWHITESNAKEQUIET RIOT), guitarist Kelly Gray (QUEENSRŸCHE 1998-2001), keyboardistRandy Gane and new additions, guitarist Robert Sarzo (QUIET RIOT,HURRICANE) and drummer Simon Wright (AC/DCDIORHINO BUCKET). Guest musicians on the CD include K.K. Downing (JUDAS PRIEST), Chris Poland (MEGADETH), Ty Tabor (KING’S X), Paul Bostaph (SLAYER,TESTAMENTEXODUS), Lita FordBrad Gillis (NIGHT RANGER), Dave Meniketti (Y&T) and Craig Locicero (FORBIDDEN).

“Frequency Unknown” is packaged with bonus tracks — fourQUEENSRŸCHE classics, newly recorded, including the smash hit single“Silent Lucidity”.

“Frequency Unknown” track listing:

01. When Lightning Strikes
02. Running Backwards
03. Fallen
04. Life Without You
05. In The Hands Of God
06. Cold
07. The Weight Of The World
08. Slave
09. Dare
10. Everything

Bonus tracks: (2013 versions)

11. Silent Lucidity
12. Empire
13. Jet City Woman
14. I Don t Believe In Love

(via Blabbermouth)

[fbcomments width="580"]