Wednesday, 11th March 2015

Frontiers Music Srl will release the second CAIN’S OFFERING album, titled Stormcrow, on May 15 in Europe and May 19 in North America.

CAIN’S OFFERING is the brainchild of Finnish guitarist/songwriter Jani Liimatainen, a founding member of SONATA ARCTICA.

Drawing its musical influence from the classic hard rock scene, the fast-paced European power metal and a very modern heavy metal sound, CAIN’S OFFERING is, just as expected, another perfect example of today’s living and breathing Finnish music scene.

Joining Jani on the band’s sophomore release, coming after 2009’s acclaimed debut Gather The Faithful, are STRATOVARIUS members vocalist Timo Kotipelto and keyboardist Jens Johansson, plus Jonas Kuhlberg on bass and Jani “Hurtsi” Hurula (PAUL DI’ANNO) on drums.

“I was approached about doing this second CAIN’S OFFERING album already a few years ago,” explains Jani, “but back then I was way too busy with other projects to even consider taking the time to write an album worth of material. Last year, when I was approached about it again, I thought that the time might be right and felt like I could really focus all my energy on the album.”

He continues: “I think musically the new album is a bit more focused and coherent. ‘Gather The Faithful’ was the first album where I wrote all the music and lyrics by myself, and in retrospect maybe I was a bit too ambitious, trying to prove that I can actually write really good, complex songs. It’s been six years since the first one and I think that I have matured as a writer, not trying to prove anything anymore, just trying to write the best possible material. It’s still very much vocal- and melody-orientated writing, since, to me, the melody is always the king, but I did try to keep things a bit more simple this time. Although I think Timo would still say some of the vocal melodies are quite complex!”

Stormcrow track listing:

1. Stormcrow
2. The Best Of Times
3. A Night To Forget
4. I Will Build You A Rome
5. Too Tired To Run
6. Constellation Of Tears
7. Antemortem
8. My Heart Beats For No One
9. I Am Legion
10. Rising Sun
11. On The Shore

[fbcomments width="580"]