DEVILDRIVER New Song Available For Streaming

Wednesday, 26th June 2013

California based metal band DEVILDRIVER are streaming “Ruthless”, a new track from their upcoming album, Winter Kills which is slated for release on August 27 through Napalm Records. The vocals were laid down at vocalist Dez Fafara’s home studio with Mark Lewis (THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER, WHITE CHAPEL) manning production while instrumental parts for the album were recorded at Audiohammer Studios in Florida. DEVILDRIVER previously worked with Lewis on 2011′s “Beast” and 2007′s “The Last Kind Words“. The album’s cover artwork, available for viewing below, features a photograph by Dean Karr and the layout was completed by Ryan Clark.

Winter Kills will be made available in four configurations, including a deluxe digibook with CD (including two bonus tracks, “Shudder” and “Back Down To The Grave”) and live DVD (featuring 45 minutes of live raw DEVILDRIVER power and includes fan favorites “Clouds Over California” and “The Wretched”), standard CD version, digital version and, for the first time in DEVILDRIVER history, a 2LP gatefold edition (including the two bonus tracks and a digital download).

Exclusive pre-order bundle packages for Winter Kills are now available here. These bundle packages include designs and items that are unavailable anywhere else.

Comments Fafara: “This is by far DEVILDRIVER’s most cohesive, powerful, groove-laden record to date! We delivered our signature California groove sound alongside a raw and biting guitar tone, mixed it with massive hooks, added in thunderous drums to rethink, and reshape another different sounding unique piece of rock and roll! Cutting our own path is something to be proud of. DEVILDRIVER has always and will forever be about thinking outside the box and delivering on something different from record to record. We cannot be assimilated into any scene or even genre of metal, and we will continue to do things our own way with a massive middle finger in the air to the status quo!”

Fafara also talked about the music direction of the band’s upcoming CD:  ”Every record is different. That being said, I thought ‘Pray For Villains‘ was kind of an out-of-the-box record for us. I thought ‘Beast‘ was a weird out-of-the-box record for us. We’ve kind honed back in to where we are. This new record sounds a lot like the first three records. It’s got an intense groove to it, and I’m really happy. The writing is going extremely well. That being said, I think we’ve laid back on our laurels right now and be like, ‘We’re a groove band.’ The fans started calling us ‘the groove machine, The California groove machine.’ Everybody needs a title; we’ll take that one and we’re going to give them that on the new record, for sure.”
Winter Kills track listing:

1. The Oath
2. Ruthless
3. Desperate Times
4. Winter Kills
5. The Appetite
6. Gutted
7. Curses And Epitaph’s
8. Caring’s Overkill
9. Hunting Refrain
10. Tripping Over Tombstones
11. Sail
12. Shudder (deluxe-digibook bonus track)
13. Back Down To The Grave (deluxe-digibook bonus track)


[fbcomments width="580"]