Dead Week in Review September 20 – 26, 2014

Saturday, 27th September 2014

Interesting to see how dealing with leaks on the Internet has changed. Swinging from the near-lawsuit antics of the All Shall Perish fiasco a few years back to the “if you can’t beat ‘em, join ‘em” attitude of the recent leak of two new Machine Head tracks, it does seem the times are changing. Though it does beg the question of what would happen if one of the ‘big’ releases were to happen upon the Internet early (At the Gates, Sanctuary, or even say, the entire Machine Head album). You know someone’s going to be in some massive trouble, at least if last year’s Carcass leak is any indication. – Kyle McGinn

General Housekeeping
Win a copy of Noctem’s Exilium in our latest giveaway!

We review the Brooklyn stop of the Rivers of Nihil and Black Crown Initiate tour.

Photos of Revocation and Crowbar from the Toronto stop of their current tour.

Our newest Sifting Through Bandcamp should provide a few new bands for you to check out.

Vocalist Elize Ryd checks in to discuss Amaranthe’s new album, touring plans, and fan interactions.

Matt Coe chats all things metal with October 31’s King Fowley in a two-part interview. Part I Part II

Vogg gets us up to speed with Decapitated’s current plans.

Under-rated Helevorn drops an exquisite piece of doom/death with Compassion Forlorn.

One of the more hotly anticipated albums of the fall, Sanctuary’s The Year the Sun Died is worthy.

Get your fill of no-frills black metal with Abazagorath’s The Satanic Verses.

According to Daniel Keating, As Light Dies’ The Love Album is “a true jewel in the crown of this year’s metal crop.”

Matthew Bowling states that Electric Wizard’s Time to Die is the band’s most consistent record yet.

Sick of it All continue their punk/hardcore crossover in style with The Last Act of Defiance.

Despite the lack of bonuses, Meshuggah’s special edition of I is worth checking out.

The news in ten
1. Children of Bodom mainman comments on Machine Head tour cancellation.
2. At the Gates stream title track from comeback album.
3. Carcass: Surgical Remissions/Surplus Steel EP to be released in November.
4. Job for a Cowboy Sun Eater album due in November.
5. Metallica’s Some Kind of Monster movie to be re-released for tenth anniversary.
6. Bloodbath streams new song “United in Pain.”
7. Ghost Brigade: Second IV: One With the Storm video teaser available.
8. Machine Head streams new single “Now We Die.”
9. Wayfarer sign with Prosthetic Records.
10. Decapitated: New album streaming in full.

[fbcomments width="580"]