Dead Week in Review April 20 – April 26, 2014

Saturday, 26th April 2014

At some point in the very near future (as in, next week), Judas Priest will unveil details of a new studio effort. Not only will it be the follow-up to the all-around bomb that was 2008’s Nostradamus, it will be the first to feature new guitarist Richie Faulkner, who replaced KK Downing in 2011. The splintering of the Tipton/Halford/Downing writing team is of particular interest, having been responsible for some of metal’s most popular, and timeless songs. (Turbo and Ram it Down as well!) With Maiden probably not recording anything this year, the field is wide open for Priest to hog the spotlight. Given the ground they’ve lost over the years, they’d be wise not to screw it up… – David E. Gehlke

General housekeeping
Voivod’s unbeatable 1987 “Ravenous Medicine” is our vintage video of the week.

Matt Coe was able to catch day #3 of the 2014 New England Hardcore and Metal Festival, where Iced Earth, Sabaton, Unearth, and more held court.

Caught in the act: Live shots of Behemoth, Inquisition, and Blood Ceremony.

Veteran British doom troupe Solstice have returned with their first batch of new material in 15 years with Death’s Crown is Victory. Vocalist Paul Kearns gave us the scoop, and much more.

Get to know Philadelphia death metal horde Fisthammer.

Bridget Erickson sat down with Behemoth drummer Inferno during the band’s recent Metal Alliance run. Read what the soft-spoken (!) drummer had to say here.

Years of lineup changes and inconsistency have done little to lessen the impact of The Necrotic Manifesto, Aborted’s best album in years.

Cut from the same King Diamond/Mercyful Fate cloth as Ghost and In Solitude, Sweden’s Portrait offer up a lukewarm album in the form of Crossroads.

Former Nightwish siren Annete Olzon has released her first solo album, Shine. Floor Jansen who? (Joking.)

Icelandic brutal death metallers Beneath are yet another Unique Leader Records outfit worth their salt, as evidenced by The Barren Throne.

Prong continue their late-career resurgence with Ruining Lives.

Depressive, atmospheric Scottish black metal? That would be Saor, whose Aura debut is totally worthy.

Hold-steady Belgian black metallers Enthroned turn in the finest album of their consistent career with Sovereigns.

Chris Black of Dawnbringer/Pharaoh fame knows the NWBOMH score on High Spirits’ You Are Here.

It’s very possible Shadows of the Dying Sun is Insomnium’s finest moment. Which is saying quite a bit.

Spectral Lore’s third album, the aptly-titled III is “enormous…and awesome.”

The news in ten
1. In Flames reveals track listing for Siren Charms.
2. Madball releases the lyric video for “DNA.”
3. Summer Slaughter tour announces its 2014 lineup.
4. Slayer signs with Nuclear Blast; releases new single.
5. Devil You Know streams entire The Beauty of Destruction album in full.
6. A resolution to the Geoff Tate versus Queensryche saga?
7. Suicide Silence to release You Can’t Stop Me in July.
8. Septicflesh and Fleshgod Apocalypse team up for North American tour.
9. Marty Friedman releases video for “Inferno.”
10. Napalm Death at work on new album.

[fbcomments width="580"]