CARPE NOCTEM Ink Deal With Code666, To Release Debut Album This Summer

Monday, 3rd June 2013

Icelandic black metallers CARPE NOCTEM have signed a multi-album contract with Aural Music imprint Code666 and are set to release their debut album, In Terra Profugus, slated for release some time this summer. The release is said to be a concept album about an ethereal journey within and without the self, exploring concepts of life, death and the nature of evil. The album title calls upon Cain’s journey into the wasteland of Nod, the self-made exile from God’s creation. Imagery from nature and light references to Nordic myth permeate the text, which is both vivid and esoteric in description. It was mixed and mastered by Paso (THE SECRET, EPHEL DUATH) at Studio73, Italy.

The order of the songs count down at first, and then upwards, signifying the initial descent into the earth, into the dream or afterlife, and the subsequent transformation and resurrection. Check out the track listing for In Terra Profugus as well as the first two tracks from the upcoming release, which are available for streaming via the Bandcamp widget below.

Carpe Noctem was formed in November 2005 by guitarist Andri, vocalist Alexander and sticksman Helgi. Guitarist Tómas joined the band in 2008 and bassist Árni in 2009. The band has released a demo (Myrkraverk, 2008) and an EP (Carpe Noctem, 2009), both self-released. The Icelandic five-piece plays aggressive black metal with various musical influences, forming a raw, chaotic soundscape combined with Icelandic lyrics defiling Christianity and debasing the gods and often references Norse mythology, apocalyptic prophecies and Icelandic black magic rituals.


In Terra Profugus track listing:

III. Odium Somniferum
II. Ars Moriendi
II. Metamorphoses Maleficarum
III. Hostis Humani Generis

[fbcomments width="580"]